Women’s lacrosse gears up for new season

CCU’s women’s lacrosse looks forward to a busy season after being selected to finish third in the 2022 ASUN Conference Women’s Lacrosse preseason coaches’ poll.  

The team has been making several changes leading up to this season. The first announcement being the team will return to the ASUN Conference after playing one season in the Southern Conference last year. Rachel Shuck Whitten was then selected as the head coach, making her the third head coach in program history. Last year she was named the 2021 Southern Conference Coach of the year.  

After becoming head coach, Whitten announced four mid-year transfers joining the team this spring. This group consists of both the 2021 SoCon Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year winners and three first-team All SoCon selections. Hannah Demis, Avery Whitehead, Avery Mcllwaine, and Sydney McClure are transfers from Furman.  

Graduate transfers Whitehead and Demis were also selected to the ASUN Preseason All-Conference team. Their schedule announced six games this season will take place at home on the teal turf. 

The chants will begin their season away on Feb. 19 against Davidson.